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Difference between a Substituted Ball and a Wrong Ball 

[originally published in 2009, Golf Coaches Association of America Rules Corner] 

Unfortunately, without the intent to do so, a player will sometimes unintentionally make 

a stroke at a ball other than the one that was hit from the teeing area.  The question 

arises as to whether the player has made a stroke at a wrong ball or a substituted ball.  

Consider the following situation.  

In a stroke play competition, two players, A and B, hit their tee shots into trees bordering 

the fairway.  When they arrive where the balls are likely to be, A sees a ball on a cart 

path, which is incorrectly identified as that of B.  A finds another ball adjacent to the cart 

path in heavy rough and chips it into the fairway.  B lifts the ball on the cart path, takes 

relief according to the obstruction Rule (Rule 16.1b) and plays the ball into the fairway.  

When the players arrive in the fairway to play the two balls again, they realize that they 

have exchanged balls, that is, the ball on the cart path was that of A and the ball in the 

rough was that of B.  

They mistakenly conclude that each has played a wrong ball with a two-stroke penalty 

(Rule 6.3c(1)) but call for an official for confirmation.  The official correctly makes the 

following ruling:  

The ball played by A was B’s ball in play and thus A has made a stroke at a wrong 

ball.  A gets a penalty of two strokes and must correct this mistake by replacing 

the original ball or another ball on the original spot, which if not known must be 

estimated - see Rule 6.3c(2): 

Rule 6.3c(2) What to Do When Player’s Ball is Played by Someone Else as a 
Wrong Ball. The player must replace the original ball or another ball on the 

original spot (which if not known must be estimated).  

 

Thus, A must estimate the spot where A’s original ball lay when it was lifted from the 

cart path by B and place a ball as near as possible to that spot. 

The ball played by B was a substituted ball because the ball was dropped with the intent 

of putting it into play even though it was not B’s original ball in play.  Since B did not 

know the location of the original ball at the time the substituted ball was dropped, B was 

required to proceed under the lost ball Rule (Rule 18.2b), in which case the substitution 

was permitted.  Since the substituted ball was not played from the teeing area as 

required by the lost ball Rule, B played from a wrong place.  In stroke play, B gets a 

penalty of one stroke under the lost ball Rule and an additional penalty of two strokes 
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for playing from a wrong place (Rule 14.7).  Since the breach of playing from a wrong 

place was serious, B will be disqualified unless the mistake is corrected by playing 

again from the teeing area (Rule 14.7b). The stroke from the wrong place doesn’t count 

in B’s score for the hole.  

This ruling clearly illustrates the difference between a wrong ball and a substituted ball. 

The key facts are [1] A made a stroke at a ball that A never put into play, thus it was a 

wrong ball, and [2] B made a stroke at a ball that was not his original ball but one that B 

put into play by dropping it, thus it was a substituted ball. 

References from the 2019 Rules of Golf to note the differences in meaning between 

substituted ball and wrong ball: 

Substitute 

 

To change the ball the player is using to play a hole by having another ball become the ball 

in play. 

The player has substituted another ball when he or she puts that ball in play in any way (see 

Rule 14.4) instead of the player’s original ball, whether the original ball was:  

• In play, or� 

• No longer in play because it had been lifted from the course or was lost or out of 
bounds. 

A substituted ball is the player’s ball in play even if: 

• It was replaced, dropped or placed in a wrong way or wrong place, or 

• The player was required under the Rules to put the original ball back in play 

rather than to substitute another ball. 
 
Wrong Ball  
 

Any ball other than the player’s:  

• Ball in play (whether the original ball or a substituted ball), � 
• Provisional ball (before it is abandoned under Rule 18.3c) or � 

• Second ball in stroke play played under Rule 14.7b or Rule 20.1c. 

Examples of a wrong ball are: � 

• Another player’s ball in play. � 

• A stray ball. � 

• The player’s own ball that is out of bounds, has become lost or has been lifted 

and not yet put back in play.� 


